Posted by: thebarbarianlibrarian | January 16, 2010

Never Enough Time

I’m a busy girl.  I work full time.  I do derby full time – that’s at least 3 two hour practices a week on top of an hour commute each way – so basically 4 hours a night – and then there’s always random derby related meetings and fun.  I’m a full time ‘mom’ to 2 cats, a foster kitten, and a dog.  I read/look at about 4,000 items a month in my Google Reader account.  I constantly keep tabs on my Facebook account, admining two pages there, and stay on top of my league’s derby forum where I do admin duties along with other derby related web stuff.  Last year I read/listened to around 60 books, and I compulsively follow a handful of television shows throughout the year.  Oh, and I attempt to be social and get out and do cool stuff on a regular basis, and when I can find the time, I love taking crafty classes and doing crafty things.

So yeah, I have no idea how I do all that stuff.  I know people who are busier than me, but at the same time, whenever I describe my schedule to people, they act like I’m nuts.  I’ve always been this way, in fact looking back on my high school, college, and grad school years I can’t fathom how I possibly kept up with as much as I did.

Anyway, I constantly wish there were more hours in a day.  I don’t really want to give up anything though, and there is only one place where I see myself coming up with these magical additional hours.

SLEEP.  I’m a marathon sleeper.  I can’t for the life of me get out of bed in the morning until the last second.  I’m reliably late to work, and on the weekends, if I don’t have anything really tempting to get up for, I can easily stay in bed, asleep, for 12 hours.  I don’t think my body could possibly need 12 hours of sleep every night.  I mean, come on, really?  And it’s not like I go to bed crazy late each night.  On work days it’s usually 11 or 12, and on the weekends 12-1.  For work, I should be getting up at 7, and on the weekends, 9.  Seems reasonable, right?

But I can’t for the life of me do it.  So many hours wasted, it’s a shame, really.

Leave a Reply

Categories

