Posted by: thebarbarianlibrarian | February 17, 2010

New Crafty Project! A Bunting!

Between being out sick, getting my regular weekend, and then getting days off for President’s Day, I managed to swing a six day weekend.  With so much time on my hands, especially since I was stuck at home because I felt crummy, I decided to open my own little sewing sweat shop.  And since some of my best friends, Bradley and Jackie were surprised by the early arrival of their new little one on the 10th, I decided my projects would be baby-themed!

I decided it would be fun to make a bunting.  During the last year I’ve seen them all over the blogosphere and Etsy, and I decided it was the perfect project for the beginning sewer.  They’re not really hard to make, but the results always seem impressive.

I have to admit that I wussed out a little bit at the end though.  I made all the triangles first and then got them strung out, and while I knew I wanted to spell out the baby’s name, I hadn’t thought through all the logistics.  After putting so much work into the flags and getting the letters cut out perfectly, I didn’t trust myself to get them all sewn on straight without mangling the letters or the flags.  I decided as a compromise I’d stitch a border around the letters before applying them, and then attach them with fabric glue so it’d be easier to get them in the right place.  I LOOOOVE how everything turned out (even though I feel like I cheated with the glue!).

IMG_1056

IMG_1057

IMG_1059

Responses

  1. Yay!!

  2. Very cute!

    People our age having babies still freaks me out. I’ll be 30 in a week and a half, I should be used to this kind of thing by now.

    Send them well wishes for me. 🙂

  3. I like it!
    So when we get a puppy will you make one for him/her?!!

    • maybe. but if you let said puppy eat it, i’m not gonna be happy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

