Posted by: thebarbarianlibrarian | March 7, 2010

Cooookies!

A couple weeks ago I came across this recipe via Poppytalk for salty chunky oatmeal butterscotch cookies. That tab has been open in my browser ever since, just waiting for me to collect the ingredients and find the time to make ’em. I finally did! The changes to the recipe I made was an added cup of semi sweet chocolate chips, and I accidentally ended up with sweetened coconut (which I don’t think made a difference). They turned out om nom nom good!¬† My neighbor Jenna was skeptical, but she actually ended up liking them, and my work friend Ben was more than happy to chomp one down, though he had to remind me of my last cookie disaster where 99% of them turned out burnt.

cookies!

Crispy Salted Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies
(adapted from The Canadian Baker)
1 c butter, softened
1 c brown sugar
1/4 c milk
1 t vanilla
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 c oats
1 1/2 c butterscotch chips
1/2 c flaked unsweetened coconut
flaky sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking soda, and the 1st salt measurement in a medium bowl.

2. In another bowl, beat together butter and sugar until fluffy. Add in milk and vanilla until combined. Slowly add in flour mixture and mix until just blended. Add in oats, butterscotch chips and coconut until incorporated.
3. Spoon up a large tablespoon of dough and drop it onto a cookie sheet leaving about 2 inches of space between each cookie. Slightly press down on each lump to slightly flatten and sprinkle a flake or two of salt on each cookie. Bake for 12 – 14 minutes, or until cookies are golden brown. Transfer to wire rack to cool. Makes 24 – 30 cookies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

