Posted by: thebarbarianlibrarian | March 19, 2010

The Girl…

I veered slightly away from my teen book reading addiction to check out some oh-so-popular books of the moment: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played with Fire the first two books of the Millennium trilogy by the late Stieg Larsson.

Lisbeth Salander?  Best character ever!  Overall I’d have to say that these books are compellingly.  Sometimes the writing gets irritating and repetitive, but if you can ignore that here and there, they are the sort of book you don’t want to put down. 

In my opinion, the second was better than the first, but a little more out there.  These books can get super graphic.  I can’t wait to read the third book, but it’s not out in the United States yet, drat!  But!  to make up for that, the original Swedish movie version of the first book is being released in the US, now.

Responses

  1. What?!?! A movie version? Awesome. I totally want to see that! Movie night?? I just finished Book 1 a few weeks ago. I haven’t made it around to Book 2 yet and glad to hear that it was better than the first. How exciting!

  2. I wonder if my upcoming trip to Germany means that I will be able to pick up this book over there………or watch the other movies over there??? Hmmmmm….let’s just hope Iceland stops exploding.

    • oooo! i bet you will be able to pick up the book over there! when are you supposed to leave?


Leave a Reply

Categories

