Posted by: thebarbarianlibrarian | April 23, 2010

Zip Zip!

I recently took another sewing class at the Crafter’s Studio in Santa Cruz.  It was all about doing zippers, which are hard damnit!  By the end of the class I’d completed two very cute little bag/pouches.  I have yet to attempt a zipper at home yet, but at least now I have an idea as to how to make it work, and they sent me home with some handy dandy instructions.  Unfortunately I’m so busy these days that I never get to sew, but one of these days I swear I’ll have some new in-house creations.

I love the fabric on this one:
bag from zipper class

And I’m amazed at how hidden my “hidden” zipper actually looks in this one!:
bag from zipper class

I’m not really that patient about following step by step instructions.  I kept getting a smidge ahead in class, and instead of waiting for the next step, I’d guess and jump ahead.  Luckily I more or less had the right idea, but the teacher kept telling me exasperatedly that if I had only asked her, I could have avoided making silly minor mistakes.  Pfffffffft.  She’s a perfectionist, I’m not.  It all works out!

Responses

  1. Oh! A hidden zipper! I have not done one of those yet…was it hard? Did they teach you the tape trick? If not, I’ll tell you all about it. Let me know!

  2. it was tricky, but since I was talked through every single step, it wasn’t bad. i have no idea about this tape trick you speak of…… please share!

  3. For regular zippers…I forget all the steps until I’m going through it, but basically you take some scotch tape of a certain size (3/4″?) and after you have pinned the zipper in, you place a strip of tape on the right side of the fabric, centering it along the basted seam that hides the zipper. Then when you sew, you just sew around the very outside edge of the tape and that way you don’t have to worry about veering off course.

  4. hrmmmm, since i’ve barely done it, i’m having trouble visualizing. i think we just relied on the zipper foot on the machine, and spacing it up against the zipper.

  5. I love them!

    So I get a whole set someday… right?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

